About BOI

The Baltic Olympiad in Informatics (BOI) is a programming contest for secondary school students. The BOI was founded in 1995, with three participating countries. Since then, it has grown to include 10 countries: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Sweden. In addition, teams from other countries are sometimes invited as guests. Each country is invited to send up to 6 participants to the Olympiad, and the host country usually sends two teams.

BOI follows the competition format of the International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI). It consists of several challenging algorithmic tasks which must be solved individually during 2 competition rounds each lasting 5 hours. Students write their programs in C++ programming language. During each round their programs are evaluated automatically, scoring points for efficiency and correctness.

This similarity between BOI and IOI is intentional, as for many participants BOI is a bridge between national Olympiads organised in their home country and the International Olympiads in Informatics. In BOI these students have a chance to get their the first experience of participating in a cosy, small but yet international event. Here they can find out to some extent what they will experience when they go to IOI. This is one of important goals of BOI.


Host Committee

Chair: Dr. Jūratė Skūpienė

Gediminas Beresnevičius

Aistė Brusokaitė

Lilijana Dirsienė

Neringa Levinskaitė

Linas Petrauskas

Gitana Viganauskienė

Scientific Committee

Chair: Justas Klimas

Daumilas Ardickas

Martynas Budriūnas

Zigmas Bitinas

Aldas Lenkšas

Jonas Pukšta

Dovydas Vadišius

Technical Committee

Chair: Antanas Uršulis

Ignas Bačius

Vytis Banaitis

Andrius Paurys

Joris Pevcevičius

Džiugas Ramonas

Dr. Bronius Skūpas

Romas Šleževičius

Andrius Žiūkas

Previous BOIs

2023🇩🇰 Lyngby, Denmark 2022🇩🇪 Lübeck, Germany 2021🇩🇪 Germany (Online) 2020🇱🇻 Latvia (Online) 2019🇪🇪 Tartu, Estonia 2018🇸🇪 Stockholm, Sweden 2017🇳🇴 Bergen, Norway 2016🇫🇮 Helsinki, Finland
2015🇵🇱 Warsaw, Poland
2014🇱🇹 Palanga, Lithuania 2013🇩🇪 Rostock, Germany 2012🇱🇻 Ventspils, Latvia
2011🇩🇰 Lyngby, Denmark
2010🇪🇪 Tartu, Estonia
2009🇸🇪 Stockholm, Sweden
2008🇵🇱 Gdynia, Poland
2007🇩🇪 Güstrow, Germany 2006🇫🇮 Heinola, Finland
2005🇱🇹 Pasvalys, Lithuania
2004🇱🇻 Ventspils, Latvia 2003🇪🇪 Tartu, Estonia
2002🇱🇹 Vilnius, Lithuania
2001🇵🇱 Sopot, Poland
2000🇸🇪 Haninge, Sweden
1999🇱🇻 Riga, Latvia
1998🇪🇪 Tartu, Estonia
1997🇱🇹 Vilnius, Lithuania
1996🇱🇻 Riga, Latvia
1995🇪🇪 Tartu, Estonia